Preface UAV-g 2019

Dr. Francesco Nex

Department of Earth Observation Science (EOS), ITC Faculty, University of Twente PO Box 217, 7500 AE, Enschede, The Netherlands

Unmanned Aerial Vehicles (UAV) have become a popular instrument for a wide range of emerging applications such as mapping, search & rescue, infrastructure monitoring, precision farming, transportation, just to mention some of them. The UAV market has overcome 130 B\$ value in the last year (source PWC report 2017) and the trend looks extremely promising for the upcoming years too. The economic boom has boosted the scientific and technological development of UAV technologies in the last decade. In this context, **UAV-g** was initiated in 2011 as the largest scientific event dedicated to UAV in Geomatics and Remote Sensing. In the different editions, the new scientific challenges have made more evident the need for an inter-disciplinary approach leading to stronger synergies with adjacent disciplines.

The ambition of **UAV-g 2019** was therefore to bring together experts from different domains such as remote sensing, robotics, computer vision, aerospace engineering as well as UAV user communities. UAV-g showed to be the common house of all these experts where they can create synergies, learn about the recent developments and exchange views on the future directions of UAV research, applications and services. Researchers, developers, service and platform providers as well as end users participated in UAV-g and contributed with presentations, posters and discussions to create synergies between researches and applications on unmanned platforms. This multidisciplinary environment was also reflected in the composition of the Scientific Committee composed by experts with very different expertise and working all over the World. For the first time in its history, UAV-g was hosted in the ISPRS GeoSpatial Week (GSW) 2019. This ensured a larger audience and impact of the conference on the Remote Sensing disciplines.

UAV-g 2019 received 29 Full-papers and 91 Abstract-based submissions. The members of the Scientific Committee thoroughly read and commented on these submissions while authors received feedback from at least three reviewers. Given the review results, 15 papers were accepted for the inclusion in the ISPRS Annals and 76 papers were accepted in the ISPRS Archives, while the remaining contributions were either rejected or withdrawn. All the accepted manuscripts show a high level of maturity, presenting novel and interesting ideas.

A great acknowledgement must be given to all the members of the Scientific Committee who did an excellent job in selecting the published contributions.

Local organizing chair

Francesco Nex – University of Twente, The Netherlands

Scientific committee

Helge Aasen – ETH Zurich, Switzerland
Costas Armenakis – York University, Canada
Mourad Bouziani – IAV Hassan II, Morocco
Filiberto Chiabrando – Politecnico di Torino, Italy
Davide Cucci – EPFL, Switzerland
Wolfgang Förstner – University of Bonn, Germany
Matteo Fumagalli – Aalborg University, Denmark
Kevin Franke – Brigham Young University, USA

Andrea Fusiello - University of Udine, Italy

Markus Gerke - Technical University of Braunschweig, Germany

Caroline Gevaert - University of Twente, The Netherlands

Jean Marc Gilliot – AgroParisTech, France

Daniele Giordan – CNR IRPI, Italy

Görres Grenzdörffer – University of Rostock, Germany

Norman Kerle - University of Twente, The Netherlands

Taejung Kim - Inha University, Korea

Lammert Kooistra - Wageningen University and Research, The Netherlands

Norbert Haala – University of Stuttgart, Germany

Petra Helmholz - Curtin University, Australia

Eija Honkavaara – National Land Survey of Finland, Finland

Dorota Iwaszczuk – Technical University of Munich, Germany

Arko Lucieer - University of Tasmania, Australia

Matthew McCabe - King Abdullah University of Science and Technology, Saudia Arabia

Farid Melgani – University of Trento, Italy

Sander Oude Elberink – University of Twente, The Netherlands

Claudio Persello - University of Twente, The Netherlands

Fabio Remondino – Fondazione Bruno Kessler, Italy

Ewelina Rupnik – IGN, France

Václav Šafář – Research Institute of Geodesy, Topography and Cartography, Czech Republic

Cyrill Stachniss – University of Bonn, Germany

Rudolph Triebel – DLR, Germany

Matthew Westoby – Northumbria University, UK