Preface: Workshop "Laser Scanning 2023"

Jan Boehm¹, Bisheng Yang², Martin Weinmann³, Katharina Anders⁴, Ruisheng Wang⁵

¹University College London, United Kingdom ²Wuhan University, China ³Karlsruhe Institute of Technology, Germany ⁴Heidelberg University, Germany ⁵University of Calgary, Canada

Laser scanning 2023 is the 12th workshop of a series of ISPRS workshops covering various aspects of space borne, airborne, mobile and terrestrial laser scanning in both indoor and outdoor environments. The workshop brings together experts focusing on applying and processing point cloud data acquired from laser scanners and other active 3D imaging systems, including terrestrial, mobile, aerial, unmanned-aerial and space-borne sensing platforms. Topics include all aspects related to sensor calibration, data acquisition and data processing including notably registration, feature extraction, object detection, 3D modelling, BIM and change analysis. The workshop is part of the ISPRS Geospatial Week 2023 in Cairo held in parallel with a number of related geospatial workshops. Laser Scanning is a central topic in the ISPRS community and is principally organized by the working group WG II/2, Point Cloud Generation and Processing.

The workshop has received a total of 30 submissions. Of those 12 were submitted to the ISPRS Annals and 18 to the ISPRS Archives. The scientific committee dedicated themselves to reviewing all submissions, with three reviewers assigned to every submission. This resulted in more than 70 reviews from which decisions were taken. The organizing committee accepted 21 submissions for the ISPRS Annals and ISPRS Archives. The oral track of the workshop is organized into four topics and one poster session. The four topics for the oral sessions are Forestry, Vegetation & Terrain, Registration & Close-Range Applications, Object Detection & Segmentation.

We wish to thank all authors for their contributions and all members of the scientific committee for their excellent job in reviewing the manuscripts.

Organizing Committee, Laser Scanning 2023

Jan Boehm, Bisheng Yang, Martin Weinmann, Katharina Anders, Ruisheng Wang

Scientific Committee:

Ahmad Baik (King Abdul Aziz University, Saudi Arabia)

Andreas Mayr (University of Innsbruck, Austria)

Antero Kukko (Finnish Geospatial Research Institute, Finland)

Bernhard Höfle (Heidelberg University, Germany)

Camillo Ressl (TU Vienna, Austria)

Christoph Holst (TU Munich, Germany)

Daniel Wujanz (Technet, Germany)

David Belton (Curtin University, Australia)

David Griffiths (Apple, US)

Dong Zhen (Wuhan University, China)

Fabio Panella (Arup, UK)

Fabio Menna (Bruno Kessler Foundation, Italy)

Florent Poux (University of Liège, Belgium)

Francesco Pirotti (University of Padova, Italy)

Franz Rottensteiner (Leibniz Universität Hannover, Germany)

Gottfried Mandlburger (TU Wien, Germany)

Hai Huang (Universität der Bundeswehr München, Germany)

Kourosh Khoshelham (University of Melbourne, Australia)

Luigi Barazzetti (Politechnic University of Milan, Italy)

Lukas Winiwarter (University of British Columbia, Canada)

Marcus Hebel (Fraunhofer IOSB, Germany)

Markus Gerke (TU Braunschweig, Germany)

Mat Disney (UCL, United Kingdom)

Michael Olsen (Oregon State University, USA)

Monica Herrero-Huerta (University of Salamanca, Spain)

Norbert Haala (University of Stuttgart, Germany)

Roderik Lindenbergh (TU Delft, Netherlands)

Sander Oude Elberink (ITC – University of Twente, Netherlands)

Sanna Kaasalainen (Finnish Geospatial Research Institute)

Thomas Zieher (Austrian Academy of Sciences)

Tomohiro Mizoguchi (Nihon University, Japan)

Volker Wichmann (Laserdata GmbH, Austria)

Wei Yao (Hong Kong Polytechnic University, Hong Kong)

Wen Xiao (China University of Geosciences, China)

Xinlian Liang (Finnish Geospatial Research Institute, Finland)

Yusheng Xu (TU Munich, Germany)

Zsofia Koma (Aarhus University, Denmark)

Editors:

Jan Boehm, University College London, United Kingdom Bisheng Yang, Wuhan University, China Martin Weinmann, Karlsruhe Institute of Technology, Germany Katharina Anders, Heidelberg University, Germany Ruisheng Wang, University of Calgary, Canada

Responsible Technical Commissions/ involved Working Groups:

ISPRS WG II/2