Preface

ISPRS Technical Commission VIII deals with Remote Sensing Applications & Policies, thus links the entire discipline to society. A linkage which underscores its importance for professionals as well as all the stakeholders benefiting from the entire range of scientific, natural resource management, disaster and other societal applications. Mid-Term symposium of ISPRS provides an important opportunity for all Working Group officers of TC to jointly take stock of the developments mid-way between two Congresses and plan for the upcoming Congress. Indian space program is acclaimed for its application focus and hosting of this event in India provides the large Indian application community to share its experience with the international community.

The ISPRS Technical Commission VIII Mid-Term Symposium 2014, is being organized by the Indian Society of Remote Sensing (ISRS) jointly with the Indian Society of Geomatics (ISG), during December 09-12, 2014. The symposium received more than 530 contributions from 16 countries and the Technical Committee, comprising of Working Group officers of TC VIII has identified 225 submissions for oral presentations that includes 26 articles that would be published in the Annals. An additional 95 papers have been selected for poster presentations while the remaining have been selected for Special Interactive Session (SIS). Mid-Term Symposium of TCVIII also features special events such as pre-symposium tutorials and joint sessions with one Working Group each from the Technical Commissions IV/4 on Geospatial Data Infrastructure and VI/2 on E-Delivery of Education Services.

Significant developments in the use of geospatial technology, particularly in the operational remote sensing for natural resources and disaster management have been of special focus. The submitted articles, in both Annals and Archives, have covered a wide range of operational remote sensing applications under 12 main themes viz., disasters, health, weather, water resources, Geology & Energy, cryosphere, forestry, land cover, coastal, capacity building and geo-databases. Special sessions on 'Future Earth', an initiative of the International Council of Scientific Unions (ICSU) and on the Himalayan Ecosystem by the International Centre for Integrated Mountain Development (ICIMOD), Kathmandu, Nepal, have added a new dimension to the symposium with a special focus on the Earth system science.

While thanking all the authors for their contribution, the services rendered by the scientific reviewing committee, drawn from different Working Groups of TC VIII and additional support, is gratefully acknowledged. Excellent handling of papers by Copernicus and interim suggestions to meet the targeted dates is highly appreciated. Many sponsors, exhibitors, committees, media partners and others have significantly contributed in meeting the requirements to organise this symposium and their services are highly appreciated.

I am sure that the symposium on "the opportunities, progress and challenges of operational remote sensing applications" will go a long way in taking this technology to the end-user segment and provide rich benefits for the societal development.

Vinay K. Dadhwal President, ISPRS TC VIII

List of Reviewers

A K Mishra	Jianya Gong	Praveen Thakur
Abdul Hakeem	Jie Jiang	Raj Kumar
Ad De Roo	Josefino Comiso	Rao Divi
Anil S Kulkarni	K H Rao	Richard Kiang
Anjana Vyas	K Sreenivas	S K Srivastav
Barbara Koch	K Venugopala Rao	S M Ramasamy
Beata Csatho	K Vinod Kumar	S P Aggarwal
C B S Dutta	Limaye Ashutosh S	S Sanjeevi
Cees Van Westen	M N Rajeevan	Samantha Lavender
Chandra Shekhar Jha	M S R Murthy	Sarnam Singh
D Vijayan	M Sekhar	Shahzad Sarfraz
David J Lary	Michael P Finn	Shirish Ravan
Derek Rust	Milap Punia	Snehmani
Dev Niyogi	Minakshi Kumar	T Srinivasa Kumar
Dev Raj Paudyal	Mir Martin	Tim Liu
E Pattabhi Rama Rao	Mutlu Ozdogan	Timi S Vann
Fabio Giulio Tonolo	MVR Sesha Sai	V Sathyamurthy
Fazlay S Faruque	N R Patel	V V Rao
Guoqing Zhou	Onkar Dikshit	V. Bhanu Murthy
Huayi Wu	P K Champati Ray	Y A (Yousif) Hussin
IV Murali Krishna	P K Garg	Y V N KrihnaMurthy
Irwin Daniel E	P L N Raju	Yann Kerr
J R Sharma	P V N Rao	
J V Thomas	Prakash Chauhan	
Jaime Hernandez Palma	Prasad S Thenkabail	